MILLETT

NAME: Millett
COUNTY: Nye
ROADS: 2WD
GRID: 1
CLIMATE: Hot summer, cool winter.
BEST TIME TO VISIT: Anytime.
COMMENTS: Private Property.
REMAINS: Scattered remnants.

Millett was just a ranch until 1905 when prospectors flooded the North Twin River Mining District after major strikes were made in Round Mountain and Manhattan. In early 1906 prospectors discovered rich ore in Park Canyon, just west of Millett. Soon a small townsite had been platted next to the ranch. By June 1906 Millett and the surrounding camps in the district were home to more than 300 gold-hungry residents. A large general merchandise store was opened along with the Lakeview Hotel. Soon a number of saloons, a blacksmith shop, a wagon-repair shop, and other buildings were also erected. The Smoky Valley Hotel was completed in 1909. Most of the mines faded quickly and by 1911 Millett’s population was down to fifty. By 1916 the mining district was dead and the Milletts sold the ranch. The remains of Millett are now on private property and permission to explore is required.

Submitted by: HBC

 


 BACK