|NAME: Yankee Blade
CLIMATE: Hot summer, cool winter.
BEST TIME TO VISIT: Anytime.
| COMMENTS: Interesting country.
REMAINS: The stone ruins.
The Yankee Blade was a New England newspaper. Its name was used to identify the mine that was located in June of 1863. The mine produced a considerable amount of ore during the next few months. By April 1864, thirty cabins had been built mostly made of stone. A number of mining companies were active in the district discovering new mines and building mills to accommodate a rapidly expanding volume of ore. All went well until 1867 when water struck the mines closing down most of the district. A small revival took place in 1900 when a few of the mines were reopened. It lasted until 1914 and the district was abandoned. Today, a visit reveals a multitude of picturesque stone ruins scattered throughout the townsite. The site is not easy to reach but is well worth the effort.
Submitted by: Shawn Hall from his book Romancing Nevada's Past: Ghost Towns And Historic Sites Of Eureka, Lander, And White Pine Counties Click here to purchase his book!