MONTE CRISTO

NAME: Monte Cristo
COUNTY: Snohomish
ROADS: 4 Mile Hike
GRID: 4
CLIMATE: Mild
BEST TIME TO VISIT:
Spring, summer or fall.
COMMENTS: Cemetery with 1 headstone..
REMAINS: Stamping mills, a power generator (which is really cool), the shell of an old garage and the ruins of an old hotel.

In 1889, prospector Joe Pearsall set out from Mineral City north of Index and climbed to the top of 6000-foot Mt Hubbard. Looking north, he saw red streaks of the rock galena, which promised mineral wealth. He named the area Monte Cristo.With the help of eastern financiers including John D Rockefeller, a railroad was built and the Monte Cristo mine was opened. However, the mine was uneconomical and was closed in 1907. The railroad continued to provide service until 1936. Today's adventurers must make a four-mile hike to reach the ghost town, where they can explore the
Monte Cristo site. Submitted by Alan Strand

 

There is an alpine fir growing in the old hotel grounds in Monte Cristo. It was planted there by young teen-age Jimmy Kyes who was living in the hotel at the time. That was in 1920. James E. Kyes was born in Everett, studied at the University of Washington, was appointed to the U.S. Naval Academy at Annapolis, graduating in 1930. After serving on the carriers Saratoga and Ranger, he returned to the Academy to complete a two-year course in engineering. He was then given command of the destroyer U.S.S. Leary taking it on convoy and patrol duty in the Atlantic during World War II. While returning to port, Commander Kyes received orders to go to the aid of an aircraft carrier under attack by German submarines. As the Leary drew close to the carrier, she was hit by two torpedoes and broke in half. Commander Kyes donned his life jacket preparing to abandon ship when he noticed his black messboy without one. Without hesitation, Kyes removed his jacket and put it on the boy. Commander Kyes went down with his ship. Seven miles west of Monte Cristo is Kyes Peak, an enduring memorial to his courage. And the alpine fir still grows in the old hotel grounds only now it is surrounded by a picket fence inside which is a monument memorializing the heroic death of Commander Kyes. The town, no longer important as a gold mining center, is today a mecca for campers, fishermen and mountain climbers. Submitted by Henry Chenoweth.

BACK