NAME: Ruby Hill
COUNTY: White Pine
CLIMATE: Hot summer, cool winter.

COMMENTS: Interesting Scenery.
REMAINS: Foundation.

Not a great deal has been written about Ruby Hill, but this small mining camp was active for many years and produced close to $200,000. The initial location was the Cow and Calf Mine discovered in 1871. The Ruby Hill Mining District was officially organized in July of 1872. By August, Ruby Hill reached its peak with a population of around 150. The town had two restaurants, two stores, a bar, and a boardinghouse that made up the business district. By fall, all the smaller mines had played out and only the four largest mines were still producing. Unfortunately, legal problems forced the mines to close and emptied the once bustling camp. It wasn’t until the early 1880s that some mines were reopened. But that didn’t last long and by 1885 there were only two residents left in Ruby Hill. There was much on again off again activity during the years until 1928 brought an end to all mining activity at Ruby Hill. Because the camp was active for only a few years at a time, few permanent buildings were ever constructed. Most of the mines are high in the mountains, and access is extremely difficult. Though the ruins are not extensive, Ruby Hill is worth the trip, primarily because of its beautiful setting, nestled high in the spectacular Schelbourne Mountains.

Submitted by: Shawn Hall from his book Romancing Nevada's Past: Ghost Towns And Historic Sites Of Eureka, Lander, And White Pine Counties Click here to purchase his book!